Don't unselect groups when updating publication

Create issue
Issue #2625 open
Martin Becker created an issue

When updating a publication and I select an additional group to add it to, all other groups are unselected. This should not happen!

Comments (8)

  1. Robert Jäschke

    Do you mean the group for "post visibility"? At the moment it is not possible to select more than one group for that.

  2. Robert Jäschke

    I see. Did you press CTRL while selecting the new group? If I understand it correctly, this is the default behavior of a multi-select box in HTML: to select several items, you have to press CTRL. I tried it that way and it worked.

  3. Martin Becker reporter

    No, I did not and, yes it is default behavior, and yes it works when I use CTRL. but this is highly unintuitive and impractical for several reasons:

    a) The window is small so you don't always see all groups, so you have to remember that there other selected groups

    b) If I just update quickly I might simply forget to use CTRL.

    c) I usually never need the "unselect all" feature which this default behavior

    d) I doubt that a normal internet user knows that hitting CTRL will do this ... I know people how don't ... and really how should they learn about it?

    e) The best practice for a user would be to always use CTRL when editing groups to not accidentally unselect all groups ... so why not take this burden from the user?

  4. Log in to comment