Source

qiv /

Filename Size Date modified Message
debian
lib
737 B
31.3 KB
4.4 KB
4.5 KB
5.7 KB
17.6 KB
377 B
1.8 KB
33.8 KB
28.3 KB
20.4 KB
6.6 KB
6.2 KB
12.1 KB
3.2 KB
10.6 KB
6.7 KB
21.4 KB
1.7 KB
453 B
Quick Image Viewer (qiv) version 2.1  by Andy Spiegl
http://qiv.spiegl.de/ - qiv.andy@spiegl.de - Released on: 2009-03-05
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Original author: Adam Kopacz / KLOGRAFX.DE Network
http://www.klografx.net/qiv/ - adam.k@klografx.de
===========================================================================


Installation (Linux/Solaris/FreeBSD):
-------------------------------------

 Various compile-time options are in the Makefile; be sure to at least
 read over them before typing "make install"... :)
 Remove the "#" if you want to use the libXinerama for centering on
 dual-screen:  #GTD_XINERAMA = -DGTD_XINERAMA

 qiv-command
 -----------
 Rename "qiv-command.example" to "qiv-command" and copy it in your path if
 you want to launch other programs within qiv. This is very nice for stuff
 like "metacam", "jhead", "exiftool" etc. to show the EXIF-infos of digital photos.

 If you get errors like this: "/bin/sh: imlib-config: command not
 found" then your Imlib is too old.. this means you don't have the
 script imlib-config..  you should update Imlib (see "Links" below) or
 replace the `imlib-config` calls in the Makefile:

 `imlib-config --cflags-gdk` -->
 -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/local/lib/glib/include -I/usr/local/include \
 -I/usr/local/include -I/usr/X11R6/include

 `imlib-config --libs-gdk` -->
 -L/usr/local/lib -lgdk_imlib -L/usr/local/lib -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lgtk-1.1 \
 -lgdk-1.1 -rdynamic -lgmodule-1.1 -lglib-1.1 -ldl -lXi -lXext -lX11 -lm \
 -ljpeg -ltiff -lgif -lpng -lz -lm


 Solaris Users: please rename "Makefile.Solaris" to "Makefile" if the
 default Makefile doesn't work for you.


Other OSes:
----------

 Try the Linux/Solaris/FreeBSD stuff.. it would be nice if you could drop
 me some lines if qiv works also on other systems (HP-UX?) ...


Authors:
--------

 Adam Kopacz             <adam.k@klografx.de>
 Andy Spiegl             <qiv.andy@spiegl.de>
 Darren Smith            <darren.smith@juno.com>
 Pavel Andreev           <paxvel@vumsoft.cz>
 Decklin Foster          <decklin@red-bean.com>
 Holger Mueller          <hmueller@hrzpub.tu-darmstadt.de>
 Scott Sams              <sbsams@eos.ncsu.edu>
 Serge Winitzki          <winitzki@geocities.com>
 Frederic Crozat         <fcrozat@mail.dotcom.fr>
 Rutger Nijlunsing       <rutger@wingding.demon.nl>
 John Knottenbelt        <jak97@doc.ic.ac.uk>
 Danny                   <dannys@mail.com>
 Tomas Ogren             <stric@ing.umu.se>
 Erik Jacobsen           <erik@openix.com>
 Alfred Weyers           <alfred@otto.gia.RWTH-Aachen.DE>
 Daniel                  <danad157@student.liu.se>
 Henning Kulander        <hennikul@ifi.uio.no>
 Ask Bjoern Hansen       <ask@valueclick.com>
 Adrian Lopez            <adrian2@caribe.net>
 Y Furuhashi             <y_furuhashi@ot.olympus.co.jp>
 Wayne Davison           <wayned@users.sourceforge.net>
 Johannes Stezenbach     <js@convergence.de>
 OEyvind Kolaas          <pippin@users.sourceforge.net>
 Matthieu Castet         <castet.matthieu@free.fr>
 Geoffrey T. Dairik      <dairiki@dairiki.org>
 Leopoldo Cerbaro        <redbliss@aliceposta.it>


Homepage:
---------

  http://qiv.spiegl.de/


Homepage of original author:
----------------------------

  http://www.klografx.net/qiv/


Misc:
-----

  Thanx to all programers, Owen Taylor and Rasterman (@REDHAT)
  for helping with patches and their knowledge :-)

  type "man qiv" for more information.
  See the Makefile if you have problems compiling.

  qiv is designed to work with ANY gtk/gdk, it also
  should work with ANY version of Imlib of Linux (Intel/Mac),
  Solaris (SunOS) and FreeBSD.


Centering:
----------

  As of version 1.7, qiv centers images by applying the correct window
  position and setting the window gravity to Static, so that window
  managers don't move the window when adding borders. If you come
  across a window manager that does mess up our centering, or has
  other problems with qiv, email Decklin (decklin@red-bean.com) and
  he'll quickly send off a patch to whoever maintains that WM. ;-)


Thumbnails:
-----------

  i don't plan on adding a thumbnail function.  sorry, but qiv is a
  QUICK image VIEWER and nothing more.  if you want more features
  (with Imlib) then try Electric Eyes or gqview ...


Image caching:
--------------

  if you want image caching then find the line at the top of image.c
  which says 'gdk_imlib_kill_image(q->im);', and change 'kill' to
  'destroy'. Don't forget to set your cache sizes with imlib_config!
  This stuff doesn't work right here (imlib 1.8 cvs) and on a imlib
  1.7 system so i have disabled it.


Speeding Up qiv:
----------------

  If you have a Pentium CPU and a recent copy of GCC, try enabling
  "-march=pentium" in the Makefile. "pentiumpro", "k6", and "athlon"
  can also be used in place of "pentium".

  The program "imlib_config" can be used to create an .imrc file with
  settings tuned for faster rendering. We recommend turning on these
  options:

  [x] High Quality in 15/16 bpp
  [x] Limit Maximum Shared Memory: 4 MB
  [x] Use Ordered Dither
  [x] MIT-SHM
  [x] Shared Pixmaps
  [x] Fast render
  [x] Imagemagick & NETPBM Fallback
  [x] Image Cache: 4 MB (or more)
  [x] Pixmap Cache: 40 Mbits (or more)

  After setting this stuff you can try: "qiv -d 0 *.jpg" (delay: 0
  secs) in a directory with for example 5 jpeg files. push "s" to
  start the slideshow and wait a few secs..  after all images are
  shown the first time (and cached) you should notice a big speed up
  in the second run.


Links:
------

  ImLib    : (ftp://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/stable/sources/imlib/)
  gtk/gdk  : http://www.gtk.org/
  qiv-orig : http://www.klografx.net/qiv/
  qiv      : http://qiv.spiegl.de/


Contact:
--------

  Mail bug, reports and comments to Andy Spiegl <qiv.andy@spiegl.de>