linux-scalability-benchmarks / gatling / README.mmapbench

The default branch has multiple heads

mmapbench will take one file as argument on the command line.
It will then map ever second page of the file, "count" times.
count is 25000 per default, (i.e. 100 megs are mapped, the file needs to
be at least 200 megs large).

The program will then prime the cache and read a few bytes from every
page that is mmapped later on, to make sure the pages are in the buffer

mmapbench will then mmap every other page and measure the latency of
that, and it will then read a byte of the page, which should force a
page fault in the OS and cause the OS to actually map the page to

On i386, mmapbench will read the task cycle counter instead of
gettimeofday and give the results in CPU cycles, not usec.  You can
divide the numbers by the CPU frequency to get comparable numbers.  As
there is no portable way to get the CPU frequency, mmapbench does not
even pretend to do this.

NOTE: if you get a bus error, you gave too small a file as argument.
The default settings from run-bench assume a file (or block device!) at
least 160 MB.  So the easiest way is to just point mmapbench to your
root partition, or use dd to create a large new file.