Ambiguity in Augment for spells/Enhance for maneuvers that increase number of targets

Issue #229 resolved
Marcloure created an issue

"You can target one additional creature for each additional mana expended.

Continued Invisibility. If you expend 1 additional mana the duration changes to 1 hour/mana."

It can be interpreted as if the additional mana expended to cast Continued Invisibility also increases the number of targets, which I guess isn't the intention? If it is, then it's fine.

The same text is used throughout every spell that increases the number of targets, such as Levitate.

Comments (8)

  1. Mark Lenser repo owner

    It is not intended that they stack. I'm not sure how to word it without butchering the nice wording for the more targets version. :(

  2. Marcloure reporter

    "You can target additional creatures by expending an equal amount of additional mana. / You can expend additional mana to target an equal number of additional creatures.

    Continued Invisibility. You can expend 1 additional mana to change the duration to 1 hour/mana."

    I think this works. Every spell will need to be revised though.

  3. Mark Lenser repo owner

    I've cleaned up all the augment wording. It improves it, but I'm not sure it solves it entirely.

    Inivisibility:

    You can target one additional creature for each additional mana expended. The creatures must be within 30 feet of each other when you target them.

    Continued Invisibility. You can expend 1 additional mana to change the duration to 1 hour/mana.

    Mislead. You can expend 1 additional mana to create an illusory double of yourself where you are standing when you turn invisible.

    You can use your action to move your illusory double up to twice your speed and make it gesture, speak, and behave in whatever way you choose.

    You can see through its eyes and hear through its ears as if you were located where it is. On each of your turns as a bonus action, you can switch from using its senses to using your own, or back again. While you are using its senses, you are blinded and deafened in regard to your own surroundings.

    Greater Invisibility. You can expend 2 additional mana so the spell does not end for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

  4. Marcloure reporter

    Yeah, I don't think it solves all of it.

    "for each additional mana expended" can be read as it includes any additional mana expended on the spell.

    I too am not sure how to improve this further.

  5. Log in to comment