Easy way to remove user access from all groups in a team

Issue #12306 open
Philip Chan
created an issue

We utilize the group feature in BitBucket extensively. We have over 25 groups. User can belongs to multiple groups. When someone leave the company or change teams. We need to remove user access from groups.

Currently there is no easy way to achieve that from ACCESS MANAGEMENT > User groups page! There is no way to search user based on user id, user first name, last name, anything!

The "User groups" page used to display all groups and the users within each group all on a single page. Previously, I would use the browser search feature and look up the user account based on their name since all user are on the same page. Once from, there could be multiple instance, I would remove access. However something change in your system about 2-3 months ago and now all groups are shown on one page and I have to click into the group to see users belong to the group.

Now if I need to remove a user and don't know which group the user belongs to (which is 99% of the time) I have to click into each group and manually look for the user. I am now very frustrated because this is such a time wasting task.

Therefore your UI "improvement" is actually increasing the time required for people to do daily tasks. It speak a lot about your development priority.

Please tell me I'm not crazy to expect that the ability to remove user access in a simple and quick manner.

Comments (6)

  1. Paul Vu

    Update: I found the option to find a user's groups and repo access.

    If you go to “Manage Team” > “Plan details”, you will find the list of all users that are part of your team. You can click the "View Access" button to see all the groups and explicit repo access there. You can also remove the user completely if you click the "X" button on the far right.

  2. Kirk Madera

    Paul Vu's solution is what this issue is requesting I think and this issue can be closed, but documented somewhere. Maybe a new issue should be opened for documenting this. There should also be an obvious link to this under "Manage Team" as that seems like the most obvious place for this functionality.

    If you go to “Manage Team” > “Plan details”, you will find the list of all users that are part of your team. You can click the "View Access" button to see all the groups and explicit repo access there. You can also remove the user completely if you click the "X" button on the far right.

  3. Log in to comment