Reimplement sync/merge behavior in on new branch list page

Issue #17892 open
Adam Youngers
created an issue

It looks like you recently changed the behavior on the branches page. Previously when I clicked the ellipsis menu and selected sync, I would remain on the same page. I'm now taken to the list of commits for the branch. This is a massive hit to my productivity. I work on a project that has anywhere from 30-60 ongoing branches at anyone time. When I release code, I sync up all the branches with master and notify the devs of the branches that have conflicts. In an ideal world there would be an option to sync all that would result in syncing the branches with no conflicts and return a report of the branches that failed to sync due to conflicts. At very least, please keep the user on the branches page with the same sort after syncing via the ellipsis menu.

https://bitbucket.org/ispottv/web/branches/?sort=behind

Official response

  • Sean McLucas staff

    Hi Adam, We are sorry for the inconvenience this change caused you. You can temporarily opt-out of the new branches UI by clicking on your profile icon (bottom of the sidebar) and clicking on Bitbucket Labs. Then uncheck "New branch list experience" to be switched back to the older view. We'll be adding back the sync and merge dialog functionality to the new UI next week.

Comments (7)

  1. Sean McLucas staff

    Hi Adam, We are sorry for the inconvenience this change caused you. You can temporarily opt-out of the new branches UI by clicking on your profile icon (bottom of the sidebar) and clicking on Bitbucket Labs. Then uncheck "New branch list experience" to be switched back to the older view. We'll be adding back the sync and merge dialog functionality to the new UI next week.

  2. Alastair Wilkes staff

    Hi @Adam Youngers, thanks for your question. Right now, we don't have plans to add a bulk sync option, as in our experience most developers maintain (and sync) their own branches which are not numerous.

    Can you elaborate a bit on your use case and how bulk-syncing other developers' branches fits into your workflow? It's not entirely clear to me. Thanks!

    Alastair
    Bitbucket PM

  3. Log in to comment