1. Bitbucket
  2. Public Issue Tracker
  3. master
  4. Issues


Issue #4944 open

Make sending a notification optional when removing user access (BB-13620)

created an issue

I removed a users's access and it sent them an alert stating " Notification: Your access on [repo name] has been revoked."

I would have preferred that either no email was sent or that I had the option to skip sending the email. I needed to remove the user without them knowing about it.

Comments (13)

  1. Dylan Etkin

    Hi idpursuit,

    This is done on purpose.

    I know it can be a little rough if you have decided that you don't want the person to have access any longer but we believe that knowing is a good thing. If we send a notification then the individual will not have to chase anyone up when they try to access the repo in the future.



  2. Todd Lucas

    "...we believe that knowing is a good thing." But what about what your customers believe? Shouldn't this be a policy decision of the individual or company who is paying for your product?

  3. Sayo Oladeji

    This should definitely be a decision by customers. There should be a checkbox "send notification."

    Now I want to revoke a superior's access on my repo without creating drama but that's currently impossible.

  4. Zach Davis staff
    • changed status to open

    I'm reopening this issue because nearly 3 years on from it being closed people clearly still want it. However, we have no current plans to revisit our notifications in this manner. So please vote for it if you're interested as that helps us gauge demand.

  5. R Churchill

    My question is, does it warn that a notification email is sent? I just removed a user from account and there was no indication that this might happen.

    A couple of years ago a colleague was asked to remove a user from BitBucket and a notification was sent, in advance of that user being told that they were being removed from the project, and it caused... unnecessary emotion. I would say removal could be a sensitive situation, and it would be better dealt with face-to-face rather than a form email that's sent in the background. In my situation today I'm tidying up accounts after a contractor left, and there is a danger the notification looks like, "I no longer trust you", rather than "Just doing some spring cleaning".

  6. Tom Bamford

    +1 on this. We have groups that have several hundred people in.

    I don't want hundreds of emails to constantly be sent out by BitBucket every time I make a change to the group permissions on an internal public repository, then be hounded by a large number of people about why their access was revoked or modified.

    I understand the "don't #@!% the customer" argument if you are modifying access for 1 person, but if you are an administrator changing group permissions, you become the brunt of a barrage of abuse about why you revoked people's access.

  7. David Siu

    +1 as well. I have no desire to stir up any emotions among people whom have already moved onto other projects. These automated notifications can cause more problems then it solves for customers with these kinds of use cases. Would love to have this be an option.

  8. John Fetzik

    I have to agree as well. As an administrator for a business I get a lot of inquires about what is going on every time we change something about access rights. WIth 80+ repositories, 120+ users, and new repositories being created every week, this adds up to a lot of notifications going out.

    This is particularly annoying when creating a new repository automatically adds a dozen access groups that all have to be removed.

  9. Log in to comment