1. Bitbucket
  2. Public Issue Tracker
  3. master
  4. Issues

Issues

Issue #6557 duplicate

Can't see team in dashboard after changing permissions to create repos

Iain Cambridge
created an issue

On team workstars it was previously set up to that all developers could create repositories. This was then changed to only administrators could create repositories. Upon this happening messages were sent that team membership was revoked and then given again. However when on the main dashboard under teams that team is no longer listed but I am still listed on the teams members page and have access to the repositories.

Comments (9)

  1. Erik van Zijst staff

    The way team privileges are implemented in Bitbucket are such that the two checkboxes ("can administer account" and "can create repos") define the level of access the users in that group have on the team.

    When you deselect both checkboxes, you essentially revoke all access for its members, even if the group is not empty.

  2. Erik van Zijst staff

    When you deselect both checkboxes, you essentially revoke all access for its members, even if the group is not empty.

    I should be a little more precise:

    With none of this boxes checked, it members still have the specified access to the team's private repositories, but since this is indistinguishable from any other non-team member that is given direct access to a repo through the repo's own admin screen, we don't count these members as collaborators on the team. They're just "repo collaborators" if that makes any sense.

  3. Erik van Zijst staff

    This confusion stems from the fact that the teams members tab works differently than the permissions backend.

    On the backend, a team member is defined as someone who is in a group that has at least one of those checkboxes checked. Only then does he have any team-specific privileges. The dropdown merely gives users repo access, which is not team-specific (any user can be given repo access by going directly through the repo's own access management).

    So when you unchecked that "can create repos" checkbox, those users effectively "lost team access". I can understand that this sounds confusing (and you're not the first to raise it), but "team access" in this regard is entirely orthogonal to repo access. Your users still have whatever access level you selected in the dropdown.

    Now unfortunately the members tab on the team profile is implemented differently. It displays anyone who is in a team group, regardless whether or not that group actually gives those users any powers over the team account.

    As I said, you're not the only one.

  4. Log in to comment