Issues

Issue #9608 duplicate

Deleted branch is visible in 'branches' table after merged pull request (BB-10713)

suevalov
created an issue

Branch was deleted after merging pull request. But anyway I can see it in branches table. When I click on ... and delete btn, I see Error modal window 'Failed to delete branch_name'.

Comments (18)

  1. Brian Holland

    This is still happening, I merged a branch through a pull request and told it to delete the branch. The branch is still in the branches page and when I click on it I get the 404 page. Is there a fix for this?

  2. Brian Holland

    The workaround is to click "Create Branch" and create the same branch again. Then click that branch to open the branch page. Use the "..." menu to choose "Delete Branch" and confirm. The branch will delete properly.

  3. Jiří Šimeček

    Wondering when this will be fixed. I must delete (via mentioned hack - create new branch, delete again) sometimes up to 5 branch links a day that leads to already deleted branch! This is heavily annoying.

  4. Marcus Bertrand staff

    Hi all, when deleting a branch via closing a Pull Request, it may take some time (seconds to a minute or so) for the branch to A. Actually be deleted by our background tasks and B. For that branch to no longer show up on the branch list page, due to heavy caching. If you are seeing an issue where the branch is actually not deleted after a short span of time, please let us know via support@bitbucket.org as there may be another issue we'll need to look into. As for your local copy of origin, note that you will need to prune this locally yourself. You can follow the command listed by Bernie Chiu above.

    Again, if you're seeing behavior that isn't consistent with this, please let us know via a support request. We will consider this issue closed for now as this is mostly expected behavior.

  5. Matthew Baker

    This is not an invalid issue. We started experiencing this Friday on several branches and it just happened again today. The issue does not correct itself after time (whenever the "cache" refreshes). Clicking the branch is a dead link like described above, and trying to delete the branch throws an error. Pull requests tied to the branch that were merged are also being odd (e.g., showing a mix of different states like "No files changed" but remaining open, showing a conflict and saying either the source or destination branch is deleted, etc.). The workaround mentioned above about recreating the branch and deleting it does work, but we shouldn't have to resort to this workaround.

    For those interested in tracking continued progress of this bug, I noticed that a duplicate issue #8342 is still open. #9688 appears to be another duplicate.

  6. Log in to comment