Force push checkbox should reset after each push

Issue #3746 new
Saad Khattak
created an issue

Force push is rarely used and when tortoisehg requires the option to be checked, it allows the developer to make sure that he/she wants to force push. Problem is that I have forgotten to uncheck the checkbox many times and ended up force pushing when really I should have pulled, merged and then pushed to avoid multiple heads.

I propose that the checkbox should be deactivated after a push so that the user is required to check it every time they want to force push.

An alternate solution would be to put the checkbox in a more accessible place and warn the user once that they are force pushing (with a dialog box) before pushing.

Comments (5)

  1. Yuya Nishihara

    I agree it's likely to cause trouble, but it's confusing to save the other options except for --force.

    Maybe we can rename "OK" button to "Save", and add button to temporarily change sync options.

  2. Yuya Nishihara

    sync: change button label to clarify options are saved permanently (refs #3746)

    OptionsDialog was initially designed for temporary options, so it's surprising that unsafe options are saved permanently. This change can at least warn users that they'll need to turn --force option off, for example.

    → <<cset 3d3543513dcf>>

  3. Log in to comment