Source

edit-utils / big-menubar.el

;; big-menubar.el --- an alternate menubar

;; Copyright (C) 1994,2002 Free Software Foundation, Inc.

;; Author: Dror Caspi <dcaspi@qualcomm.com>
;; Modified by: jwz and allender and haydens@ll.mit.edu
;; Rewritten by: mrb in the differential programming style
;; Rewritten by: Steve Youngs <youngs@xemacs.org> to cater for XEmacsen
;; from 21.1 to 21.5 on 2002-04-28
;; Keywords: mouse menubar

;; This file is part of XEmacs.

;; XEmacs is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
;; under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
;; the Free Software Foundation; either version 2, or (at your option)
;; any later version.

;; XEmacs is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but
;; WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
;; MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU
;; General Public License for more details.

;; You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
;; along with XEmacs; see the file COPYING.  If not, write to the 
;; Free Software Foundation, Inc., 59 Temple Place - Suite 330,
;; Boston, MA 02111-1307, USA.

;;; Synched up with: Not in FSF.

;;; Code:

;; Extra menu items for XEmacsen <= 21.1
(if (and (<= emacs-major-version 21)
	 (<= emacs-minor-version 1))
    (let* ((current-menubar (default-value 'current-menubar))
	   (edit-menu (car (find-menu-item current-menubar '("Edit")))))
      ;; Remove some menu items that this file obsoletes.
      (delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Start Macro Recording"))
      (delete-menu-item '("Edit" "End Macro Recording"))
      (delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Execute Last Macro"))
      (delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Search..."))
      (delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Search Backward..."))
      (delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Search (Regexp)..."))
      (delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Search Backward (Regexp)..."))
      (nconc
       edit-menu
       '(("Macro"
	  ["Start Macro Recording"     start-kbd-macro (not defining-kbd-macro)]
	  ["End Macro Recording"       end-kbd-macro         defining-kbd-macro]
	  ["Name Last Macro..."        name-last-kbd-macro       last-kbd-macro]
	  ["Insert Macro in Buffer..." insert-kbd-macro           t]
	  ["Execute Last Macro"        call-last-kbd-macro       last-kbd-macro])
	 "---"
	 ("Register"
	  ["Copy to Register..."       copy-to-register      (mark)]
	  ["Paste Register..."         insert-register	          t]
	  "---"
	  ["Save Point to Register"    point-to-register	  t]
	  ["Jump to Register"          register-to-point	  t])
	 ("Rectangles"
	  ["Kill Rectangle"            kill-rectangle		  t]
	  ["Yank Rectangle"            yank-rectangle		  t]
	  ["Rectangle to Register"     copy-rectangle-to-register t]
	  ["Rectangle from Register"   insert-register	          t]
	  ["Clear Rectangle"           clear-rectangle	          t]
	  ["Open Rectangle"            open-rectangle		  t]
	  ["Rectangle Mousing"
	   (setq mouse-track-rectangle-p (not mouse-track-rectangle-p))
	   :style toggle :selected mouse-track-rectangle-p])
	 "---"
	 ("Sort"
	  ["Lines"                     sort-lines           (mark)]
	  ["Paragraphs"                sort-paragraphs      (mark)]
	  ["Pages"                     sort-pages           (mark)]
	  ["Columns"                   sort-columns         (mark)]
	  ["Regexp..."                 sort-regexp-fields   (mark)])
	 ("Center"
	  ["Line"                      center-line               t]
	  ["Paragraph"                 center-paragraph	         t]
	  ["Region"                    center-region        (mark)])
	 ("Indent"
	  ["As Previous Line"          indent-relative	         t]
	  ["To Column..."              indent-to-column	         t]
	  "---"
	  ["Region"		       indent-region        (mark)]
	  ["Balanced Expression"       indent-sexp		 t]
	  ["C Expression"              indent-c-exp		 t])
	 "---"
	 ("Narrow"
	  ["To Region"                 narrow-to-region     (mark)]
	  ["To Page"		       narrow-to-page		 t]
	  "---"
	  ["Cancel"		       widen
	   (not (and (= (point-min) 1) (= (point-max) (1+ (buffer-size)))))])))
      ;; Replace Compile button with Compile menu
      (add-submenu
       '("Tools")
       '("Compile"
	 ["Compile..."		       compile		         t]
	 ["Kill Compilation"	       kill-compilation	         t]
	 "---"
	 ["Next Error"		       next-error		 t]
	 ["Previous Error"	       previous-error		 t]
	 ["Goto Error"		       compile-goto-error	 t])
       "Compile...")
      (delete-menu-item '("Tools" "Compile..."))
      ;; Replace Spell-Check button with Spell Check menu
      (add-submenu
       '("Apps")
       '("Spell Check"
	 ["Word"                       ispell-word		 t]
	 ["Complete Word"              ispell-complete-word	 t]
	 ["Region"		       ispell-region		 t]
	 ["Whole Buffer"               ispell-buffer		 t])
       "Spell-Check Buffer")
      (delete-menu-item '("Apps" "Spell-Check Buffer"))))

;; Extra menu items independent of XEmacs version.
;;
;; Search and Replace
(add-submenu
 '("Edit")
 '("Search"
   ["Forward..."	  isearch-forward	  t]
   ["Backward..."	  isearch-backward	  t]
   "---"
   ["Regexp Forward..."	  isearch-forward-regexp  t]
   ["Regexp Backward..."  isearch-backward-regexp t]
   "---"
   ["Words Forward..."	  word-search-forward	  t]
   ["Words Backward..."	  word-search-backward	  t]))
(add-submenu
 '("Edit")
 '("Replace"
   ["Query..."		  query-replace		  t]
   ["Regexp Query..."	  query-replace-regexp	  t]
   "---"
   ["All..."		  replace-string          t]
   ["Regexp All..."	  replace-regexp          t]))
 ;; Marking commands.
(add-submenu
 '("Edit")
 '("Mark"
   ["Here"		  set-mark-command	  t]
   ["Word"		  mark-word		  t]
   ["Sentence"		  mark-end-of-sentence	  t]
   ["Paragraph"		  mark-paragraph          t]
   ["Page"		  mark-page		  t]
   ["Balanced Expression"  mark-sexp		  t]
   ["Lisp Function"	  mark-defun		  t]
   ["C Function"	  mark-c-function	  t]
   ["Whole Buffer"	  mark-whole-buffer	  t]))
 ;; Transpose.
(add-submenu
 '("Edit")
 '("Transpose"
   ["Characters"	  transpose-chars	  t]
   ["Words"		  transpose-words	  t]
   ["Lines"		  transpose-lines	  t]
   ["Sentences"		  transpose-sentences	  t]
   ["Paragraphs"	  transpose-paragraphs	  t]
   ["Balanced Expressions" transpose-sexps	  t]))
;; Remove Replace menu
(delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Replace..."))
(delete-menu-item '("Edit" "Replace (Regexp)..."))
;; Add Hex Edit button
(nconc
 (car (find-menu-item current-menubar '("Tools")))
 '("---"
   ["Hex Edit File..."    hexl-find-file          t]))
;; Motion menu.
(add-submenu
 nil
 '("Motion"
   ["Goto Mark"                  exchange-point-and-mark (mark t)]
   ["Goto Line..."                          goto-line           t]
   "---"
   ["End of Balanced Parentheses ( )"       forward-list        t]
   ["Beginning of Balanced Parentheses ( )" backward-list       t]
   ["Next Opening Parenthesis ("            down-list           t]
   ["Previous Opening Parenthesis ("        backward-up-list    t]
   ["Next Closing Parenthesis )"            up-list             t]
   "---"
   ["End of Balanced Expression"            forward-sexp        t]
   ["Beginning of Balanced Expression"      backward-sexp       t]
   "---"
   ["End of Function"                       end-of-defun        t]
   ["Beginning of Function"                 beginning-of-defun  t]
   "---"
   ["Next Page"                             forward-page        t]
   ["Previous Page"                         backward-page       t]
   "---"
   ["End of Buffer"                         end-of-buffer       t]
   ["Beginning of Buffer"                   beginning-of-buffer t]
   "---"
   ["Save Current Position..."              point-to-register   t]
   ["Goto Saved Position..."                register-to-point   t]
   "---"
   ["Set Marker..."                         set-user-marker     t]
   ["Goto Marker..."                        goto-user-marker    t]
   ["List Markers"                          list-markers        t]
   "---"
   ["Set Goal Column"                       set-goal-column     t]
   ["Cancel Goal Column"          (set-goal-column t) goal-column]))

;; Add scrollbar-like buttons to the menubar
(add-menu-button nil ["Top" beginning-of-buffer t])
(add-menu-button nil ["<<"  scroll-down         t])
(add-menu-button nil [" | " recenter            t])
(add-menu-button nil [">>"  scroll-up           t])
(add-menu-button nil ["Bot" end-of-buffer       t])

  
(provide 'big-menubar)